The Society of Composers & Lyricists honors Maury Yeston and Carter Burwell as Ambassadors

at their annual ceremony on Dec. 10, 2012. The Society created the Ambassador Program to recognize and acknowledge a select group of composers and lyricists without whose valuable contributions our profession would be less than it is; without whose creativity our artistic community would be lacking and without whose gift, our society would be deprived of wonderful music and song expressed by their genius. Their achievements will be used as the ultimate standard for future generations of film composers and songwriters. Those honorees have been Earle Hagen, Ray Evans, Ray Charles ,Vic Mizzy, Richard and Robert Sherman, Johnny Mandel, Van Alexander, David Shire, Burt Bacharach, Dave Grusin, Hal David, Lalo Schifrin, Jack Hayes, Charles Fox, Alan and Marilyn Bergman, Patrick Williams, Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, James Newton Howard, Arthur Hamilton and Mike Post.